Login    
   
   
    Register FAQ  •  Search    

· Home ·   Forums ·  Who Are We? ·  What is Open Carry? ·  CCDW Process ·  FAQ ·  Contact ·  Terms ·

Fundraiser to Support Delaware Open Carry!


We've come to that time of the year when our server lease and domain name registrations are coming up for renewal. In the past, many of you have expressed your generosity in the form of donations in order to keep the site running - I'm asking for your support again this year.

Please visit our donation information page for more details and, if you enjoy this site, if you've ever attended our gatherings or, if this community has brought you some knowledge or entertainment, please give what you can to keep us going.

→ Donation Information Page ←


It is currently Sun Sep 22, 2019 8:02 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: New to State and State Laws
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 1:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 11:03 am
Posts: 146
Be aware - OC in DE becomes CC as soon as you sit in your car - weapon must be plainly visible on dashboard or front seat - it is not visible to LEO if it is on your hip in vehicle.
If applying for CCL, cost of ad depends on where you live -e.g. many Newark applicants put ad in Wilmington News Journal (major paper in the state) for approx. $95, when they could put ad in Newark Post for approx. $47. FYI.


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: New to State and State Laws
PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2016 2:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 5:12 pm
Posts: 9
OC cant become CC once you're in your car because it has to be out in the open, correct??

I am keeping my car reg and drivers license in Florida for a yr, so ill have time to get a Florida non-resident license.

Once we register everything in Delaware, ill put a ad in The Guide for 2 weeks. My question for this is....I need 5 letters of recommendation, do they have too be from ppl that live in Delaware???


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: New to State and State Laws
PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2016 2:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 5:12 pm
Posts: 9
Ive already been finger printed and have a picture, do I still have to get them done in Delaware???

I love this site!!!!! You guys have been great with all your info. Thanks!!!!


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: New to State and State Laws
PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2016 4:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 3:30 pm
Posts: 1558
Location: Newark, DE
OC can inadvertently turn into unlawful CC if you're not careful and the gun gets covered by something before you have a CCDW. Keeping it out in the open is how you prevent that.

The 5 letters of recommendation must come from residents of the county in DE in which you reside.
Quote:
§1441(a)(2) At the same time the person shall file, with the Prothonotary, a certificate of 5 respectable citizens of the county in which the applicant resides at the time of filing the application. The certificate shall clearly state that the applicant is a person of full age, sobriety and good moral character, that the applicant bears a good reputation for peace and good order in the community in which the applicant resides, and that the carrying of a concealed deadly weapon by the applicant is necessary for the protection of the applicant or the applicant's property, or both. The certificate shall be signed with the proper signatures and in the proper handwriting of each such respectable citizen.


I believe you will need to be fingerprinted on the fingerprint card used by the state police / DE State Bureau of Identification. There really aren't any shortcuts in the process.

_________________
"Be Prepared"


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: New to State and State Laws
PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2016 5:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:54 pm
Posts: 3176
Location: Newark, Delaware
Resident Judge Witham in Kent County has also indicated that the 3 Resident Judges in Delaware (that approve CCDW permits) have a policy that the residents who give you a recommendation must know you for about a year. There have been exceptions made, but that is the general rule.

I questioned Judge Witham on that rule since it essentially deprives you of your right to carry concealed until you are a resident in Delaware for a year or more. Of course, he couldn't respond to that issue directly. However, it has not been challenged apparently.


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: New to State and State Laws
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2016 2:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 5:12 pm
Posts: 9
Thanks for the info guys. I was hoping, since ive already been thru the process, it would have been a little easier for me but I guess not. Haha.

I wish CCL was kinda like a driver's license. All states recognize and allow you to use your CCL in their state and if you move, you just get a new CCL without all the bs.


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: New to State and State Laws
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2016 1:08 pm 
Offline
Founding Member

Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 10:02 pm
Posts: 1235
Location: Wilmington
Also since you'll be here just for 1 year, may need driving abstract from FL too.
(One more hoop - sorry)


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: New to State and State Laws
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2016 3:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:54 pm
Posts: 3176
Location: Newark, Delaware
radnor wrote:
Also since you'll be here just for 1 year, may need driving abstract from FL too.
(One more hoop - sorry)


I've never heard of anything of the sort being needed at any time. Your driving record is not part of the application process. Rather, the DOJ likes to look at it for reasons to take an adverse position relative to your application. That does not make it a requirement.


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: New to State and State Laws
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 10:30 am 
Offline
Founding Member

Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 10:02 pm
Posts: 1235
Location: Wilmington
You are correct, it is not a REQUIREMENT. But the he will jump through all the hoops and one more will be placed in front of him. Just wanted him to be aware of this.


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: New to State and State Laws
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 12:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 7:36 am
Posts: 303
Location: Magnolia, DE
MikesDuster wrote:
OC cant become CC once you're in your car because it has to be out in the open, correct??

I am keeping my car reg and drivers license in Florida for a yr, so ill have time to get a Florida non-resident license.

Once we register everything in Delaware, ill put a ad in The Guide for 2 weeks. My question for this is....I need 5 letters of recommendation, do they have too be from ppl that live in Delaware???
They need to be residents in your county.

_________________
[]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]
------)_'_\ * (
"----------\ * \
"-----------\_*_\
Life NRA
DSSA
Bridgeville R & P Club
Certified Glock Armorer
DE CCW
PA LTCF


 Profile  


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


phpBB skin developed by: John Olson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group