Current events, goings-on in Delaware and anything else of interest here.
 #93299  by dave_in_delaware

I'd like to start a discussion similar to the "max price for .22lr ammo" thread.

I'm relatively new to the AR platform so I don't really know what ammo was going for 2 years ago or if what it's going for now is a decent price.

I can't find it at my local Walmart to save my life. They haven't had their shelves refilled for over a year now. I know I can order it online, or go to a few of the local gun/police stores around here to get some, but I don't want to be paying a "price gouging" fee on it due to supply/demand/panic buying.

So please, let's hear your thoughts and avg/max prices you have paid and would pay.

(Assume "normal" usage - target practice and home defense, nothing fancy. Brass casings).

Thank you.
 #93300  by astro_wanabe

Even Walmart seems to have gone up in price to meet demand. The ZQI brand from Turkey was $425/720 rounds (in battle packs in an ammo can), so $0.59/rd. The lowest I've seen recently was a Black Friday deal from PSA for $0.36/rd for some "GECO" brand. Personally I want brass cased, boxer primed, non-steel-projectile, to my door for $0.40/rd or less, maybe a couple cents more for ammo on stripper clips or in a can. That's just to get me by until I can start reloading though. I've heard current reloading costs are around $0.20/rd for 55 grain plinking .223 (not counting startup investment or time).
 #93302  by dave_in_delaware

A local store here carries Federal Cartridge Co. ammo:

500 rounds, FMJ Boat-Tail, 55 grain, brass case, boxer-primed, XM193I for $215 ($0.43/round)
or
20 rounds of same for $9.49 ($0.48/round)

420 rounds, FMJ, 62 grain steel core green tip, brass case, XM855, 10-round stripper clips for $224.99 ($0.54/round)

Ammoman.com seems to be around $0.50/round or higher right now.
 #93303  by astro_wanabe

dave_in_delaware wrote:Ammoman.com seems to be around $0.50/round or higher right now.