Post questions here about open and concealed carry, as well as general law questions.
 #106042  by flaminyon

Hey gang, got a question for y'all. I'll preface by saying this: I spend a lot of time with younger family members, who happen to be in scouting, they understand the concealed carry process in Delaware, and know what the rules are when it comes to guns. We've never had any issues with poor behavior around guns with them, and never will.

Occasionally, due to crazy scheduling, I don't always have the option to switch to concealed before dropping a certain young man off at a scouting event. This has lead to many of the kids asking me the usual "Are you a police officer" "Why do you have a gun" "Are you in the FBI" and that sort of thing. Of course I answer no to the question if I am a LEO or Agent, but when they ask me why I have a gun I'm a bit torn on the issue. My concern is that while I am very pro 2A, I don't want to push my beliefs on another person's child. Rather than explain something that could get me even more questions, I typically just say that I have my permit from the court, and that I am allowed to have it. That's usually good enough for them, but I really don't want to shove my ideas down somebody's throat, some parents there might even be anti, I'm sure. More importantly, scouts isn't the place for that type of discussion, it's about the kids. When I open carry, part of it is to make a statement, as I'm sure you all can understand, but I wouldn't intentionally do that at a scouting function, it's just not the place.

When it comes to any function with kids, I will always prefer concealed to open, but depending on my activities that day, I might not be able to switch. And I will not simply leave it in the car, that won't happen, I already had to explain to the assorted agencies why I need my rights, I don't need any more grief.

Well what does everybody think, any experiences or advice?
 #106046  by Owen