Post questions here about open and concealed carry, as well as general law questions.
 #5659  by Deviate

Hello,

I am a New Castle County resident who is new to the site. I've recently been spending some time trying to educate myself on the subject of open carry in DE.

I guess my main intent is to find out if there are there any 'catches' to lawful open carry that I'm possibly overlooking before I ever do so. Other then any panic or overreaction from the general public, or perhaps inquisitive law enforcement, is it really that cut and dry? I probably have a pretty valid reason to apply for a CCDW permit, but I'm still not positive it would be enough reason, nor have I felt like going through all the hassle. (Father was Cpl corrections officer for 25 years, and threats from inmates; some work release, were not uncommon)

My only reason to OC would be self defense/protection in the event that I travel into a "rough" area or bad neighborhood, being out somewhere late at night that may raise concern for my safety, or other scenario of that nature. So my question is, does the firearm have to be registered or anything like that to make it legal to open carry? Or can you OC a privately acquired or passed-down handgun?

Also, just to verify, while driving somewhere and not actually walking about, the gun has to be on the passenger seat (which isnt very secure) or somewhere in plain view if loaded, and NOT holstered, correct?

I just want to be sure there is no fine print I may be missing before I actually exorcise this right somewhere in regards to personal safety.

Thanks,

Matt
 #5663  by Wynder

Welcome, Matt!
Deviate wrote:Other then any panic or overreaction from the general public, or perhaps inquisitive law enforcement, is it really that cut and dry?
It really is that cut and dry. :)
I probably have a pretty valid reason to apply for a CCDW permit, but I'm still not positive it would be enough reason, nor have I felt like going through all the hassle.