Post questions here about open and concealed carry, as well as general law questions.
 #81822  by 02337

Picked my gun up today from viper98(super nice and smooth transaction). Disassembled it cleaned it, polished the feed ramp asjusted mag lips. Feeling confident in the pistol I headed to lowes and decided to just jump into open carrying. Hit lowes,pep boys, and little ceasers.

My question is between your travels do you take off your holster and keep your gun in there and travel? Or is it acceptable to just keep holster on and firearm open on seat unholstered.

Also, if you are carrying your holster with gun in it in your hand from say my house to my car is this breaking any laws? Or does weapon have to be holstered on belt?

Thanks!
 #81826  by MrCoolDale

Let me tackle these one at a time.
First thing is first:
Viper98 is awesome

Second:
I AM NOT A LAWYER

Third:
Open carrying in a car can be tricky. Open carry means that it is in the open, easily in view. If it is on your hip (I'm a righty) while in the car, with you driving, and buckled up (it's the law)... Wouldn't your shirt/jacket, along with the seatbelt, and center console cover the firearm from public view? I know it does with me. While courts have ruled that "In public view" may have a different meaning to a police officer (ie they have a broader meaning), is this something you want to challenge? I can almost guarantee that no amount of arguing with a police officer will convince them that you weren't attempting to conceal it. Your best bet is to keep it in the open.

To do this, I place it on my passenger seat. Some members have anti-slip pads and place it on their dash board. A few members have actually mounted a serpa holster to their dash. If I'm not mistaken, one member actually has holster on his seatbelt, which keeps the pistol right at his chest. All of these options are acceptable. I would tell you to be creative, but be safe and cover your ass.

Fourth: