Post questions here about open and concealed carry, as well as general law questions.
 #97342  by Jcastigl

Guys and Women,

Im am very very new to the whole open carry of a pistol. I cannot find anywhere that tells me if I am allowed to carry a loaded fire arm on my person in plain sight. When I say loaded fire arm to me would be empty chamber loaded mag. Another question I have is am I within the scope of the law to carry any caliber pistol I desire? Now of course I do know where I can carry and where I cant, I am also not a convicted fellon I am a resident of the state of Delaware.

Please help : (

Thanks
 #97354  by scampbell3

First, welcome to DELOC.
The reason that you cannot find anything that tells you that you can carry a firearm in plain sight is very simple....nothing on it exists anywhere in the DE Code. This is a common misunderstanding. The DE Code does not define what is legal or lawful. The DE code only defines what is unlawful.
Title 11, Part I, Chapter 2. General Provisions Concerning Offenses § 202. All offenses defined by statute.
(a) No conduct constitutes a criminal offense unless it is made a criminal offense by this Criminal Code or by another law.
(b) This section does not affect the power of a court to punish for civil contempt or to employ any sanction authorized by law for the enforcement of an order or a civil judgment or decree.
If it is not specifically made unlawful in the code it is de facto lawful. This is why OC is lawful, because there is no law in the Code that makes it unlawful.