Semi-automatics, revolvers, long guns... ask questions and offer tips on safe, accurate shooting here.
 #112842  by 7aull

I'm new to the scope world, and have read many great article and threads on choosing scopes, the difference between them, what to look for, and what features are good for what applications.

It turns out, I need similar resources for buying scope rings. I figured they're just rings, how hard could it be to get my new scope mounted? Well, looking into it I am bewildered by the insane amounts of choices for rings. Thin, thick, steel, aluminum, two screw, six screw, ten dollar, two hundred dollar... Such bewilderment put me into engineer/overthinking mode, so bear with me...

Disregarding differences in mount type, diameter, and height (things that are all more or less options for each mount of scope ring) the way I see it, the factors/variables of interest would be:

-Geometric Quality: Straightness, roundness, and other geometrical tolerances, lack of burrs, flashing, other poor finishing that would cause stress or damage or misalignment

-Material: Strength (resistance to recoil as well as external forces on scope), hardness (resistance to scratching), weight

-Clamping surface area: I'm assuming more area touching the scope is "better" at supporting it and preventing damage or scope shift?

-Number of clamping screws: More screws = more surface area and more even distributed clamping pressure = better for support, preventing damage?

-Aesthetics: Surface finish, color, looks tacticool or heavy duty or fancy or whathaveyou

Am I missing anything?