Semi-automatics, revolvers, long guns... ask questions and offer tips on safe, accurate shooting here.
 #70204  by dave_in_delaware

OK, I'm planning on breaking in my new AR soon. I want to properly prep it for its first time to the range, and clean it after shooting. But I have a few questions (yes, I'm an AR noob)....

Should I field strip, clean, and lube my AR right out-of-the-box? Or can I give it a once-over lube and hit the range?

Do I need any tools to field strip an AR? I see the illustrations in my manual, but they're generic and don't mention any tools.

My manual says "after firing, clean your weapon for 3 consecutive days with RBC. Wipe dry and lube according to lubrication instructions." Does that mean I need to clean it once per day for 3 days every time I shoot it? Huh? That seems a bit excessive.

Ammo question: is using steel-cased ammo "rougher" on the rifle than brass-cased? Or there's no real difference?

Thanks in advance for your insight and experience.
 #70206  by phlydude

I always give my new weapons a light cleaning before I take them out for the 1st time.

With the AR, separate the upper from the lower (remove the charging handle and bolt 1st) and then run a couple swaps down the barrel and dry it with clean patches. Wipe down the feed ramp as well.

Take a patch with a little bit of CLP (or use your fingers) and lightly wipe over the bolt. Wipe it down with a clean patch. It should be pretty dry with just a light coating of oil to let it cycle smoothly. DO NOT get any oil in the gas tube.

That is all you need to do. The gas system will not need to be cleaned for a while. Go shoot it and clean it when you are done like you would a pistol.
 #70210  by myopicvisionary