Semi-automatics, revolvers, long guns... ask questions and offer tips on safe, accurate shooting here.
 #86842  by Fishhunter911

I am looking at purchasing a RIA 1911 Tactical. I have not decided whether to go 9mm or .45. I love the Full Size but the Officer my be better for a carry weapon.

Anyone have either? If so, what are your likes and dislikes.
 #86855  by cslade454

I have some experience with rock island 1911s. I would not recommend them as a good carry self defense weapon. There lack of warranty and support in a market were most pistol have a life time warranty(ruger,smith colt,taurus,XD,glock,sig) should tell you something. There are so many other really great hand guns out there to choose from like XD's that will feed hollow points and have great factory support if some breaks.
 #86856  by cslade454

I shoot a lot. I have reloaded over 150,000 rounds. I spend a lot of time on the range. I have only ever seen one person be able to shoot more than 200 rounds though an officer 1911 without any problems. Avoid officer 1911's.
 #86857  by DragonJames

Guess ill put in my 2cents on officers models, there isn't far too much gained from them as a carry weapon unless you plan to CC, my full size carries just fine, and in some fiddling around the house its not too terribly difficult to conceal if that's the route your going for. Also helps if the weapon is designed for carry, my kimber is a carry model full size, edges are just rounded as opposed to being sharp and angular.

As far as RIA stuff I don't have experience with the so I can't help you.
 #86858  by Amy Blackthorn

Haven't owned one but I can tell you, went to a combat handgun advanced class and the guy next to me had RIA 1911 and it jammed every other mag. It jammed so bad at one point they needed a screwdriver to unjam and the last time it jammed badly enough he had to wash out of the course and take it to a gunsmith.
 #86859  by Fishhunter911