Login    
   
   
    Register FAQ  •  Search    

· Home ·   Forums ·  Who Are We? ·  What is Open Carry? ·  CCDW Process ·  FAQ ·  Contact ·  Terms ·

Fundraiser to Support Delaware Open Carry!


We've come to that time of the year when our server lease and domain name registrations are coming up for renewal. In the past, many of you have expressed your generosity in the form of donations in order to keep the site running - I'm asking for your support again this year.

Please visit our donation information page for more details and, if you enjoy this site, if you've ever attended our gatherings or, if this community has brought you some knowledge or entertainment, please give what you can to keep us going.

→ Donation Information Page ←


It is currently Wed Oct 23, 2019 2:20 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: New to State and State Laws
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 5:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 5:12 pm
Posts: 9
We will be arriving in Delaware Dec.1st from Florida. I have my CCL here but I've been reading that I don't need a license to OC in Delaware, is that correct???

Also, for me to have a CCL in Delaware, I have to put a ad in a local paper for 2 weeks, then turn in my paper work with FOUR HUNDRED DOLLARS????? Thats CAN'T be right!!!!!

Thanks!!!!


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: New to State and State Laws
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 11:02 pm
Posts: 4163
Location: Pencader Hundred
Welcome to the group and where did you get such bad info on the filing fee?

Which is listed here...

http://www.handgunlaw.us/states/delaware.pdf

_________________
-Boots
Have Gun—Will Travel

Si vis pacem, para bellum


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: New to State and State Laws
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 1:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 5:12 pm
Posts: 9
Thank You for the info. My next question is, since I have a Florida CCL, will I have to go through Delaware's training to obtain a Delaware CCL???


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: New to State and State Laws
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 1:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 5:17 am
Posts: 388
Location: Marshallton
MikesDuster wrote:
Thank You for the info. My next question is, since I have a Florida CCL, will I have to go through Delaware's training to obtain a Delaware CCL???

That's an interesting question as the Florida requirements are fairly similar to Delaware's. However, the Delaware class covers Delaware laws, so I'd assume that you'd be required to take a new class.

Looking closer... Here is the instruction sheet from the state. http://courts.delaware.gov/forms/download.aspx?ID=33278 That refers to the state code, which has specifics on the course contents... two lines of which mention state laws. So, you will have to take a new class up here.


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: New to State and State Laws
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 3:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 5:12 pm
Posts: 9
Thanks for the info. That SUCKS!!!!!!! Hahaha


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: New to State and State Laws
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 9:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:54 pm
Posts: 3176
Location: Newark, Delaware
And remember....once you become a Delaware resident, your Florida permit does not work here. You must have a Delaware CCDW permit to carry concealed if you are a Delaware resident. Open carry available though since it appears you are not a person prohibited, etc.


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: New to State and State Laws
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 2:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 3:30 pm
Posts: 1558
Location: Newark, DE
The filing fee is not $400 but by the time you add up the filing fee, fingerprints, notice in paper, pictures, class, and gas to drive around jumping through all the hoops, your TOTAL could approach $400.

_________________
"Be Prepared"


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: New to State and State Laws
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 3:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 11:02 pm
Posts: 4163
Location: Pencader Hundred
astro_wanabe wrote:
The filing fee is not $400 but by the time you add up the filing fee, fingerprints, notice in paper, pictures, class, and gas to drive around jumping through all the hoops, your TOTAL could approach $400.
True dat! :(

_________________
-Boots
Have Gun—Will Travel

Si vis pacem, para bellum


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: New to State and State Laws
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 4:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 5:12 pm
Posts: 9
Thanks guys!!!!!


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: New to State and State Laws
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 7:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 8:49 am
Posts: 606
Location: NOT Bear - Christiana Area
While you are still in FL you might want to look into what can be done about converting your CCW to a non-resident CCW.

_________________
"The purpose of the pistol is to stop a fight that somebody else has started, almost always at very short range." -- Jeff Cooper

Image


 Profile  


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


phpBB skin developed by: John Olson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group